Beetnik Foods Reviews

Beetnik Foods
Based on  30 Reviews
About Beetnik Foods
Beetnik Foods is a one stop shop that offers customers everything they need to order or prepare healthy high quality meals.  Founded in Texas the company has grown quickly and their products can now be had across the US via brick and mortar stores or online shipping.
 
They have worked hard to spread their message of clean eating and consuming foods with no artificial additives, hormones, or antibiotics.

Products and Ingredients:

Beetnik has foods has an extensive product line that includes:
  • Organic Grass-fed Beef
  • Free-Range Organic Poultry
  • Wild Caught SeaFood
  • Gluten Free Foods
  • Organic Frozen Meals
The pre-made meals they sell are NON-GMO, USDA Organic,Gluten Free, and Paleo Friendly.  Also none of their items contain MSG, High Fructose Corn Syrup, or artificial colors and flavors.

Customer Service and Shipping:

The company can be reached by phone at 512-584-8228 or email at customersupport@beetnikfoods.com.  You can also submit a message through their website at anytime.
 
The company ships FedX Ground to all states within the continental US.  Costs are based on the size of the order with free shipping for orders over $175.

Online Reviews/Complaints:

There are a wide range of customer reviews with some people absolutely loving the frozen meals and products and others finding the taste and consistency disagreeable.  With any nationwide company there is bound to be mixed reviews, both negative and positive, if you are considering their foods a good option may be to try them out locally before committing to a large online order.

Competitors and Alternatives:

There is a growing number of companies delivering high quality grass-fed meat, produce, and pre-made meals such as Door to Door Organics, Organic Prairie, and Grandcestors.

Where to Buy?

Beetnik foods can be found at large health food chains such as Mom’s Organic Market and Whole Foods across the US.  Use their store locator to find a retailer near you, and as always all products can ordered directly from their website.
 
If you have tried Beetnik Foods please leave your review below.
 
30 ‘Beetnik Foods’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Apr
21
2019
Dee
Shepherd’s Pie- Spicy AF!!!

Could only get 5 bites down (with bread to stifle the burning hot spices). This was the spiciest food I’ve tasted. I was sweating and my eyes were watering. My mouth and esophagus burned for an hour. Lots of gristle and hardly any meat. Looks like dog food once it’s cooked and stirred. Some reviews on here said this meal was bland and some said spicy so who knows what you’ll get. I have no idea how this company continues to sell these.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Feb
13
2019
Don B.
Manteca, CA
Black Pepper is the prevalent spice in every meal

My sister and I bought a variety of these because we thought they sounded good. The ones I have had have been OK but that is only because I can handle the spice, primarily a black pepper and possibly red pepper taste. It seems that the fundamental problem with these meals is that the company didn't hire anyone who knows how to properly use other spices to flavor their recipes, so they just throw black pepper into everything. That's a problem. I'm not so picky about the look of the meals, or even the "soupy" consistency of some of them. I can handle that, if the meal is healthy, but when everything overwhelmingly tastes peppery, it's just a bummer!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
29
2018
Chris
Las Vegas
False advertising

Tried the honey chicken with zucchini noodles and it was disgusting and nothing like the picture. It was a brown soup with about 4 noodles and 4 small chicken bites. Nothing honey, it had hot Chile’s in the sauce. Also tried the chicken and cauliflower rice and it too had the same tasteless brown soup with a couple chicken bites. The people who wrote reviews on their site had to be employees as it was the worst frozen food I have ever had....never again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Mar
28
2018
Kristine
Minnesota
A TV dinner is NEVER like home cooked. It is convience.

I agree there are some bland bad tasting dinners this company makes. But a lot are good. My favorite is the shepherds pie. I would much rather have a little bland or too spicy then too much salt.Grisel is not what the meat is if you are using lean meat you need the fat. This meal has 27% total fat which is pretty good. Cut up any good steak and the fat is good, yes it has texture.I have Anemia defficeny from intestinal imbalance after menapause. I am fifty years old and in all my life have I never been so tired and miserable in my stomach. I am so grateful to pop these in the oven( many frozen dinners you must microwave.....HELLO people microwaves destroy food)Live to eat not eat to live.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Mar
27
2018
Norma
Vallejo,CA
Beetnik Paleo Grass Fed Beef Bolognese With Zucchini Noodles

The taste was ok but there was hardly much meat mostly fat.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Mar
22
2018
Francie
Spring Texas
Don't spend your money on Beetnik shepherds pie

I only tried the shepherds pie and it was the worst tv dinner I have ever tasted. One bite and it went in the garbage. It was not fit for human consumption. I won't say anything about their other dinners since I didn't try them.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Feb
17
2018
Ard Diem
Bland, Chewy Beef, Big Chunk of Bone, Oily

Shepherd's Pie. Very little beef, and it was gristly, chewy, and greasy. Dish contained a quarter inch long piece of bone. Bland dish. Detected no spice. Adding salt and pepper helped, but, really, it was beyond repair. Bought at Walmart for $5. Will not buy again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Feb
16
2018
Jen
Atlanta
Waste of Money

When I first saw the brand, I was excited because I am both gluten and dairy free and it is hard to plan for lunch sometimes, and quick options are far and few between.

I tried both the Organic Lemon Chicken and the Beef Chili with Sweet Potatoes. Both were overly spiced and the quality of meat is very poor.

Very disappointed.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Feb
15
2018
John Vick
Carthage Texas
Nastiest box meal ever - will report to Walmart and friends

Nastiest meal for $5.00 - could not eat it all. The beef had so much gristle in it. Somebody needs to contact Walmart and tell them this shit is garbage in a plastic case. Simply gross.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jan
24
2018
Katie
Rutherfordton nc
Organic lemon chicken

I absolutely love the organic lemon chicken I eat one of these just about every day. I hope they keep making these cause I will continue to buy them.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Lin
February 09, 2018

It is not edible.

Nov
3
2017
Heather
Honey Chicken Zucchini Noodles - GROSS.

The smell was odd while it was cooking, and as soon as I saw it I was disappointed-- obviously they didn't account for the extra water zucchini adds to any dish. This wound up looking like soup. I was excited to see the green chiles, since that's always a plus in this New Mexican's book... But even green chile couldn't save this nightmare. Ick. Ew. It tasted TERRIBLE and the chicken was somehow dry despite the soupiness. I have another meal from this company in my freezer and I'm tempted to just throw it away. Glad I bought them on sale instead of at full price. Horrid. Don't bother!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Kristine
March 28, 2018

If you cook it in the oven instead of a microwave it is good.Microwaves destroy food. Oven a little longer than called for.

Mary Ellen
August 10, 2018

No oven on Earth could save this meal! It was totally disgusting - nothing like the picture on the box.

Oct
21
2017
Aubrey
Anchorage, AK
Disappointing and Waste of Money!!

I was super excited to try this Organic Paleo dish (Organic Lemon Chicken with Cauliflower Rice) even though it was $6.49. It only had 150 calories, and 20 grams of protein and the picture on the box looked great. Sadly after cooking this dish it looked like a watery brown mess and something that I had thrown up. Even worse was it had no flavor other than a peppery taste. I ate it out of spite and the fact that I had just paid $6.49 for a frozen meal. So disappointing and a waste of money!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
Karen
December 10, 2017

I agree 100%! Soupy, nasty! only tasted black pepper.

Sue B
December 18, 2017

Spot-on with the description of this meal! There was nothing I could do but to drain all the water off of it and then it did still look disgusting. Not much flavor at all and very little chicken. I wish I could post the picture of the box and what ended up looking like. NOT EVEN CLOSE! ????

Steph S
February 03, 2018

Ditto - except I might add that the smell of it almost made me hurl. It looked and smelled like vomit. I am not at all a picky eater, but this was awful. I couldn't even eat it - I'm not sure where they got the picture for the box, but it sure wasn't what was inside - bleck! Is it possible to give negative stars when rating this?

Lin
February 09, 2018

I agree. Throwing out the other two meals I purchased. Scandalous they can peddle these.

J. Terry
February 15, 2018

I agree. The pepper taste was too much for me. Dissapointed ????

Oct
18
2017
carrie
tucson
uck!!

Organic Honey Chicken with Zucchini Noodles: Was excited to try this. What a disappointment!! Super runny, WAY to spicy!! Honey chicken, really it does not say anything about being spicy!! Tons of green chilies and hardly any noodles.. Don't waste your money!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Mary
August 10, 2018

This dinner was just disgusting. Nothing like the picture on the box. Slimy noodles (I think zucchini?) and too sweet sauce.

Sep
23
2017
Shepard's Pie & Chili
Good Idea, Bad Ingredients

All the gristle in both items is disgusting. When you bite into the gristle, it makes you want to throw up then and there. It ruins the entire entree. It ruins your entire evening. Yuk!! My last experience was 4 out of 5 bites had the gristle. Enough, never again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Sep
19
2017
Susan Knowlton
Gilbertsville, Pa
sheppard's Pie

This by far, the very worst meal I have ever purchased. I have celiac disease and am on the Paleo diet so I had great hopes that a fast meal was available.
Oh,my goodness, it was absolutely terrible! Not only was the portion small but there were at least 7 pieces of gristle that I could not chew or swallow!
I posted my experience on Facebook and I advise anyone reading this to avoid this product. It is terrible!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Shepard's Pie & Chili
September 23, 2017

I have been purchasing both of the above for several months. My last 4 purchases (2 chili and 2 shepard pie) were just as the other person said, 4 out of 5 bites has gristle. I was 100% for them at first, now I will never buy them again. The quality has changed drastically. I almost hurl when I bite into the gristle. No more for me. To the Company...bring back the quality. You can't make money if no one wants to throw away their money on bad food.

CHristy
October 06, 2017

SHepherds pie Beetnik frozen meal HORRIBLE FULL OF TENDONS AND LIGAMENTS EVERY Bite! Gag gag gag

connie
October 30, 2017

Sheppards pie too spicy and every bite had grisltle

Sep
18
2017
Michael Lane
Beaufort, SC
Tastes like dirt

I purchased the shepherds pie. I hoped it would be an easy way to eat Paleo. But it tasted like straight up dirt. I'm not going to lie I ate all of it that's why I put two stars instead of one because I couldn't justify putting one star or something that I didn't spit out immediately and throw away. It tasted like root vegetables that hadn't been washed very well. I think they added a bunch of pepper to try to cover up the dirt taste? I'm super serious it really tasted a lot like dirt, like, more like dirt that anything ever tasted before, that falls in the food category, in my life aside from dirt. It was ridiculous. I got my wife a taste little bit on her finger she agreed it also tasted like dirt. No but seriously Guys it really does like dirt....like a lot. The end.

P.S. I will try the lemon chicken with cauliflower rice tomorrow. Glutton for punishment I guess....

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Tastes like dirt...
September 23, 2017

It does taste like dirt. That was my exact first impression of the shepard pie.

Leave out the gristle
September 23, 2017

These should be 1 of the 3 foods you throw out. Dogs eat gristle because they swallow their food whole. They don't chew.

Aug
15
2017
Maria s
Midlothianva
Too too spicey

We tried the shepherds pie and the beef chili. Shepherds pie was okay. But the chili was so spicy we had to throw it out. My husband loves spice. But he had one taste and pushed it away. We wasted $5 never again

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jul
18
2017
Claudia b
Baltimore md
The worst frozen food ever, disgrace to paleo diet

I don't usually review anything but I love to cook and I love to eat. I've been following a paleo diet for years but went off of it for about a year. I'm trying to get back into it but with time being an issue I thought I'd look into some quick options. The packaging on these beetnick paleo meals look good. I was so excited to try something quick. I got the lemon chicken with cauliflower rice, chili with sweet potato, shepherds pie and the chicken and vegetable stir fry. I tried the last two. First, the chicken was so tough I could barely cut it with a sharp knife, also it was tiny, didn't look good, after I cooked it it was watery and slimy. I took a bite, bland, watery and tough, even the vegetables. I opened up with shepherds pie and it smelled good, it appeared to have a better texture. I tasted it. It was also slimy, watery and omg the meat was like dog food. I immediately threw both of them out after just one bite. I will try both the other two I have left but I'm not hopeful. So save your money and just prep your own fresh food and freeze it yourselves. I am out 20 dollars (should have been a clue) for food with proteins that seem like scraps. Also, I'm sad to say this company is out of Austin and that is disappointing as it's the best city ever. Please improve your product and actually care about a demographic who values nutrition and taste.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jul
15
2017
Lynn Cornwell
Virginia
Terrible

This was one of the worst frozen meals I have ever tasted. The taste was very similar to the smell of dog food.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Apr
11
2017
Ofalyn Harris
Dallas, TC
I couldn't even take a bite.

I went to Wal-Mart and saw this beautiful frozen tv dinner: Lemon Chicken and Cauliflower Rice. It looked creamy and delicious and I couldn't wait to try it. I microwave it as instructed. I look at it. It was so watery it looked like soup and riced cauliflower? More like chopped and still whole pieces of cauliflower. I couldn't even bring myself to take a bite.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
at least try it
June 13, 2017

You didn't even eat it and gave it 1 star?

Yvonne Stroman
June 22, 2017

I totally agree with you! Be lucky you did not try it! I purchased the same product based on how it looked on the carton. I too followed the instructions and it was watery :(. I paid $5.00 and did not want my money to go to waste and it was awful. All I could taste was the lemon and pepper. It is really sad that Beetnik would allow this product to hit the shelves. I would not recommend this at all and would give NO stars. Thoroughly disappointed.

Wdavis
October 03, 2017

Agreed! Yuck!

Leave a Review
* Indicates Required Field
 
Related Reviews
No reviews yet 
BY: Mark H 
No reviews yet 
No reviews yet 
BY: Shelly L