Colima Sea Salt Reviews

Colima Sea Salt
Based on  10 Reviews
About Colima Sea Salt
Colima Sea Salt is a new product brought to you by Ava Jane’s Kitchen, makers of a popular Avocado Oil.  The company founded by John Cawrse aims to dispel many modern health myths and develop products that help people live inline with the ancestral health/ paleo movement.
 
One such myth is that eating salt leads to hypertension and other cardiovascular diseases.  On his website John provides an explanation and links to research studies that claim this health myth was founded on shaky science and that in fact eating the right salt in healthy doses can be beneficial.

Product and Ingredients:

John goes on to argue that the real issue with consuming salt is that most people buy cheap big brand options that have been highly refined.  This means that they contain no added minerals found in natural sea salt and are mainly pure sodium chloride.
 
On the other hand Colima Sea Salt is 100% All-Natural, Unrefined, and Hand-Harvested Sea Salt from the Cuyutlán Lagoon.
 
It also has over 80 essential minerals including:
  • Maganesium
  • Sulfur
  • Carbon
  • Silicon
  • Calcium
  • Potassium
  • Iron
  • Aluminum
  • Praseodymium
  • Strontium
  • Zinc
  • Copper
  • Erbium
  • Tin
  • Bromine
  • Titanium
  • Boron
  • Gallium
  • Rubidium
  • Fluoride
  • Cerium
  • Manganese
According to John it’s critical to consume salt with a mixture of trace minerals as they all interact together for optimal absorption and nutrition.  Furthermore traditional salt is treated with anti-caking agents and even if it’s labeled “sea salt” it can still be refined and stripped of its minerals.
 
So what Ava Jane’s Kitchen is offering with their product is pure Colima Salt that is harvested in a traditional manner by migrant families working the dry season in Mexico.

Cost:

A 1/2 lb. bag of Colima Sea Salt costs $19.99. They also have a buy one get one free promotion going on.  You also need to use less of Colima Salt than typical table salt as it is more potent and flavorful.

Customer Service:

Colima Sea Salt comes with a lifetime money back guarantee and if you do not enjoy the product you can send it back for a full refund.  If you have any questions you can read through the FAQ page on their website or contact them directly at info@avajaneskitchen.com.

Online Reviews/Complaints:

Colima Salt has positive reviews online with customers really enjoying the flavor of it and how they feel after consuming it.  The product also has the endorsements of popular health and diet bloggers and fitness specialists.

Competitors and Alternatives:

There are many high-end salt products on the market and as long as you do your research you can find whatever you are looking for from regions all over the world.  Just make sure you look for the right criteria of unrefined pure sea salt.

Where to Buy?

You can purchase directly from Ava Jane’s Kitchen or through additional online retailers.
 
If you have tried Colima Sea Salt please leave your reviews below.
 
10 ‘Colima Sea Salt’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Sep
24
2020
Marcella
Illinois
Love This Salt!

I love the consistency, flavor, and that this is microplastics free.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Sep
19
2020
no
none
can't even check out!

i can't even get out of the check out line....geez, i only wanted to try the stuff, if i want more i will come back for more.....i really hate this kind of service that makes you jump through hoops just to check out with their 1st offer. i'm considering not trying.why not just make these offers after the sample offer is tried?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
May
21
2020
Kelly
Chicago
Hmmm....

Got the salt. It tastes like salt, lol. Not real worried about the plastics thing. But I bought three and got 2 free, plus one more, I think. But it is rock hard NOT soft like they state. I was not happy because I was excited to be able to use it without a grinder. It's in my Celtic sea salt grinder. They say to dry it in the oven for this but I didn't bother. The magnesium/ sodium ratio is about even so that's good for me. I also have used a mortar and pestle to smash it to put it in a covered sugar bowl by the stove so I can just use my fingers to sprinkle while cooking. This stuff is in relatively large chunks[for salt] that will scratch your throat. Buyer beware in this regard.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jan
20
2020
Risé Johnson
Sarasota, Fl
Iodine for Thyroid health

Tastes delicious and love the texture. But sea salt should contain pretty high amounts of natural iodine. Our thyroids need iodine to produce hormones. If it contains natural iodine, then I think it is the best salt I’ve ever tasted but I must have iodine to continue to use this brand.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
DHanson
March 18, 2020

Does this salt have naturally occurring iodine?

Kelly
May 21, 2020

No, it doesn't. Take kelp for iodine, or Lugol's iodine.

Ev Cherrington
July 10, 2020

I'm trying out Colima salt so far so good. Also I use Lugol's iodine from Swanson's Health Products.

Jan
19
2020
Laurie
Minnesota
Love it!

This salt is the best I have ever tasted bar none! I will cook veggies just so I can eat this salt, it is the best on Broccoli. Glad I found it!!! Plus after reading the comments, I will gladly pay more to make sure there are no micro-plastics in my sea salt. One really has to try it to understand how good it tastes!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
May
3
2019
Sharon
Santa cruz
Price vs quality

I haven't purchased this product yet but I have been researching and comparing prices. I read the entire article as I find health related articles very interesting. He makes good points that are understandable and seem valid. While i am willing to pay a little more for a product that is superior my calculations showed that a half bag for $13 or so is about four times what I could pay for a comparable quantity of Himalayan salt which might be the next best comparison. So I am willing to pay more for a better product but not four times more. At that point I feel that I am giving a donation to someone's personal pocketbook. How much of this profit really goes to the salt farmers that he claims to support? I'm sorry to be so brutally honest, but without spending the time to do a little research I would not be aware of the price discrepancy. This is not to say that the quality is superior. Bottom line, what is a justifiable price increase for a superior product?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 41 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
John Cawrse - Owner Ava Jane's Kitchen
July 10, 2019

Hello Sharon,

Thank you for your feedback.

I hope you will take the time to compare our salt to other salts. We have thousands of satisfied customers.

Himalayan sea salt comes from the Khewra salt mine in Pakistan. It comes out as a rock, hard and dry. For this reason, it must be ground very fine otherwise it’s like eating a rock. Our salt is moist and soft. It can be ground between your fingers and gives a satisfying crunch and an explosion of flavor to your food.

We buy our salt from a single producer who employees the Salineros. We pay the producer what they ask for their product and guarantee that we will buy all they can produce, therefore guaranteeing they will have a viable business. The Salineros are paid a living wage, and the availability of this product on the US market virtually guarantees their continued employment.

If you have any other questions, please don't hesitate to contact us.

https://support.avajaneskitchen.com

John Cawrse
Owner
Ava Jane's Kitchen

Nancy
November 26, 2019

Thanks John, but your response doesn't address Sharon's concern.....that your salt is 4 times the price of decent Himalayan salt.

Amanda
March 23, 2020

Nancy, it looks like they did answer your question. Higher quality, sustainable prices for the local producer. But you left a 4 star review without even trying it! Seriously it is so good, you literally want to eat it from the bag.

Apr
6
2019
Mickey
NY, NY
Good, But...

I just did a taste test between this Colima salt and some unrefined Himalayan pink salt I have. Both were good, but I did find the Himalayan salt somewhat stronger. However, the Colima salt is good and they do say it has no microplastics in it, which is a good thing. My best guess though is that the Himalayan salt is equally pure. (And I love the Himalayan pink salt lamps.)

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 24 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jan
23
2019
Craig Wesson
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Salt percolating with flavor

I purchased a promotional buy 3 get 2 free bags of Colima salt from Ava Jane's Kitchen. I see the reviews about their slightly deceptive sales practices, and agree with them although I am very happy with the product and anticipate reordering. I initially was only going to purchase one bag for

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Nancy
November 26, 2019

Thanks for acknowledging *slightly deceptive sales practices*. Any company who does this will never get an order from me.

Laurie
January 19, 2020

So have you tied this salt Nancy? I only see your comments on other peoples comments.... I have tried it and it's by far the best salt I have ever tasted! Plus I would gladly pay (four times more) to make sure there are no micro-plastics in my sea salt. A vast majority contain them! I found no "slightly deceptive sales practices. You just have to read what is being put in front of you. You have the option of purchasing more product but you also have the option of saying "no"

Sep
13
2018
Scherie
Iowa
beware

they offer a barrage of products before checking out for the one time free offer. I clicked on the one of save $99 on sale .. I assumed there would be a button to confirm order and It just went thru ... phone # for customer service was a recording not available . . and to sent them an email.
I sure hope they respond ! not happy about this way of doing business at all.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 41 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
marie
November 30, 2018

one reason i do not like the buy one get one free.... it happened to me a couple of times in the past and never again. hope you get your money back.
just give it to me for a lower price instead of the free.

May
December 08, 2018

Same thing happened to me. I ordered 1 bag of salt for 6.99 and they offered me buy 3 get 2 free. I thought, great holiday gifts. At no time was the per bag price stated. I was charged 56.00 for the “buy 3 get 2 free”for salt. After the order was processed. I contacted them and they stated I would have to refuse the entire shipment to get a refund. I don’t like being deceived. It should have stated the per price cost prior to checking out. Not a good way to instill trust in a company claiming to promote health and well being.

Nicola
March 25, 2019

I agree on the comments above. I was a customer for a while 2016-2018 as the salt is fabulous but then they updated their systems and you are charged for things in behind the checkout it seems [Apr-2018]. So your credit card is hit with charges not authorized. When I finally got a hold fo them, they claimed it was a system problem yet the reviews above support otherwise. I returned everything but was still out the shipping costs. Borderline fraudulent I feel.

John Cawrse - Owner Ava Jane's Kitchen
July 10, 2019

Hello Scherie, Marie, May, and Nicola,

I am so sorry to not have responded here. I had no idea this website existed.

One of the challenges of running our business is managing our shopping cart. Usually when things are not the way the customer expects it is almost always my fault. I apologize. I am not an expert but I improve with every customer complaint or feedback.

Our goal is to exceed our customer's expectations. When we fall short, I take responsibility for it.

Please accept my apologies.

If you are not satisfied with our service, please contact customer service and request your email be forwarded to me.

Sincerely,

John Cawrse
Owner
Ava Jane's Kitchen

Fuck You Ava Janes
January 27, 2020

Honestly super whack, I agree and it should be illegal to take advantage of customers like that.

ihatenicknames
September 19, 2020

i can't even get out of the check out line....geez, i only wanted to try the stuff, if i want more i will come back for more.....i really hate this kind of service that makes you jump through hoops just to check out with their 1st offer. i'm considering not trying.why not just make these offers after the sample offer is tried?

Jun
13
2017
anne baxter
philadelphia,pa.
colima salt

IT DOES TASTE BETTER...only use a little

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 24 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
Bill
October 08, 2017

I am going to give this a try

Steve
October 10, 2017

Since when is fluoride an essential mineral?

Jim
March 02, 2019

Exactly ??????????Fluoride is a pesticide ??

Jo
June 14, 2019

Or aluminum?

John Cawrse - Owner Ava Jane's Kitchen
July 11, 2019

Hello Bill, Steve, Jim and Jo,

We don't add Fluoride, Iodine, anti-caking agents, or anything else to our salt.

If you'd like to see a summary of the analysis of our salt as well as the raw lab results, you may find those here: https://support.avajaneskitchen.com/article/141-salt-analysis

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact customer service directly.

Thank you,

John Cawrse
Owner
Ava Jane's Kitchen

Harry
February 17, 2020

lab site listed is not available

Leave a Review
* Indicates Required Field
 
Related Reviews
No reviews yet 
BY: Andrew 
No reviews yet 
No reviews yet